SADC countries may soon share one passport


Plans for a new rule that would facilitate travelling between countries within the Southern African Development Community (SADC) on a single passport have been launched, rendering borders between the nations more flexible for travellers from the region and alleviating the challenges of moving through various neighbouring countries. The same passport may also be used when visiting other countries in the world.

READ MORE: Introduction Of The Pan-African Passport In 2018 To Increase Travel

According to Travel24, the concept was first introduced in 1996 with draft protocol The Free Movement of Persons within SADC, which in 1997 was subsequently “replaced by a more restrictive protocol, The Facilitation of Movement of Persons”.

READ MORE: The Most Powerful Passports In The World

SADC member countries to which the single passport would be extended to are:

  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Seychelles
  • Tanzania
  • South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *